Our Communities

As the major investor in Bremer Financial Corporation, the Otto Bremer Foundation is committed to the communities and seven regions that are homes to Bremer banks. The Foundation seeks to serve as a resource to local and regional organizations that help to move these communities forward.

The Foundation actively seeks to understand community concerns, challenges and goals through visits by staff and trustees, meetings with nonprofit and community leaders, periodic convenings and other means. We consider a number of factors in determining geographic eligibility for a grant or program-related investment, including physical proximity to Bremer Bank communities and how the work of a specific program or organization will positively affect residents of those communities.

We have identified seven distinct geographic regions where Bremer banks are located so that we can develop a deeper understanding of the various regions in which we fund. By focusing on these regions we will broaden our understanding of that geographic area, and develop and expand relationships within each region that can lead to synergies that will benefit individuals and organizations. 

Our regions and communities are listed below the map.

Bremer Communities Map

Region 1: Western North Dakota
Bismarck, Carrington, Devils Lake, Max, Minnewaukan, Minot, Richardton, Rugby

Region 2: Red River Valley
In Minnesota: Breckenridge, Crookston, Detroit Lakes, Fisher, Moorhead, Warren
In North Dakota: Casselton, Fargo, Fordville, Gilby, Grafton, Grand Forks, Larimore, Lisbon, Wahpeton

Region 3: Central and Northern Minnesota
Aitkin, Baxter, Brainerd, International Falls, Princeton, Rice, Sartell, Sauk Rapids, St. Cloud

Region 4: Western and South Central Minnesota
Alexandria, Brandon, Fergus Falls, Mankato, Marshall, Morris, Owatonna, Perham, Redwood Falls, Starbuck, Watertown, Willmar

Region 5: Twin Cities Metropolitan Area
Arden Hills, Brooklyn Center, Eagan, Eden Prairie, Edina, Inver Grove Heights, Lakeville, Maplewood, Minneapolis, Minnetonka, Plymouth, Richfield, Roseville, South St. Paul, St. Anthony, St. Louis Park, St. Paul, Stillwater, White Bear Lake, Woodbury

Region 6: Western Wisconsin
Amery, Bayfield, Colfax, Danbury, Eau Claire, Elk Mound, Frederic, La Crosse, La Pointe, Menomonie, New Richmond, Siren, Washburn

Region 7: Southeastern Minnesota
Austin, Eyota, Houston, Kasson, Rochester, Rollingstone, St. Charles, Stewartville, Winona